Scientific Committee

The 12th International Symposium on Pediatric Pain will offer learning experiences that build on over three decades of science dedicated to improving the prevention and treatment of needless pain and suffering in infants, children, and adolescents.  I am delighted to collaborate with some of the most outstanding members of our field who constitute the scientific program committee for this event.  The plenary speakers who have agreed to come and share their wisdom are each tops in their respective fields and encompass contributions from basic and translational research, clinical research and acumen, and the challenges of generalizing knowledge to practice in developing countries.  In addition, there will be multiple concurrent workshops zeroing in on specific areas of interest, as well as poster sessions designed to promote immediate interaction with the investigators.  The field of pediatric pain has progressed substantially since our early roots in 1988 (the First ISPP) and this meeting 31 years later will highlight our advances, embracing the theme of partnering with children and families.

Prof. Dr. Gary A. Walco
Professor of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine
Adjunct Professor of Pediatrics and Psychiatry
University of Washington School of Medicine
Director of Pain Medicine
Seattle Children's Hospital

Scientific Committee

Dr. Mariana Bueno
The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, Canada

Ananda Fernandes, RN, PhD
President , IASP Special Interest Group Pain in Childhood, Nursing School of Coimbra, Portugal

A/Prof. John Collins
The Children’s Hospital at Westmead and University of Sydney, Australia

Prof. Dr. Eva Cignacco
Bern University of Applied Sciences, Department of Health Professions, Berne, Switzerland

Prof. Dr. Liesbet Goubert
Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium

Prof. Dr. Ruth Eckstein Grunau
University of British Columbia, Department of Pediatrics, BC Childrens Hospital Research Institute, Vancouver, Canada

Joshua Ngwang Menang
Pediatric Pain Investigator Nurse, CALMEF Practice, Cameroon

Dr. Jennifer Rabbitts, MD
University of Washington School of Medicine, Seattle Children’s Hospital, Seattle, United States

Dr. Laura Simons
Stanford University, Palo Alto, California, United States

Rebeccah Slater
University of Oxford, Department of Paediatrics, United Kingdom

Prof. Dr. Dick Tibboel
Erasmus MC – Sophia Children’s Hospital, Rotterdam, the Netherlands

Prof. Dr. Gary A. Walco
University of Washington School of Medicine, Seattle Children’s Hospital, Seattle, United States